Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

PDM’s Yousaf Gillani Stuns PTI, Defeat Abdul Hafiz Sheikh in Senate Election


By Our Web Correspondent

ISLAMABAD– In a major break through in the Senate election, Yousaf Raza Gilani, the joint candidate of opposition parties, has been elected senator from Islamabad, by defeating Abdul Hafeez Sheikh of PTI.

Both candidates could be seen shaking hands after the announcement of the results. Supporters of Gillani shouted slogans in his favour in the National Assembly.

As per the unofficial results, Gillani got 169 votes whereas Shaikh could only get 164 votes. Seven votes were rejected by the ECP officials.

Polling for Senate election was completed in the National Assembly along with three provincial assemblies – Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.

Polling was delayed in the K-P Assembly due to late arrival of lawmakers. It has been completed with the final vote cast by Shahram Khan Tarakai from the PTI.

Apart from Jamaat-e-Islami all other political parties participated in the upper house of parliament’s elections which ended without any untoward incident.

Following are the unofficial results coming in from the National Assembly and three provinces:


PPP and MQM-P candidates Palwasha Khan and Khalida Ateeb from Sindh Assembly won the seats on reserved seats for women, according to unofficial results.


JUI-F’s candidate Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Independent candidate Abdul Qadir and BNP’s Mohammad Qasim have each been elected to a general seat.

However, In Punjab, there were 11 seats but thanks to the efforts of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) leadership all the senators have been elected unopposed. Therefore, there will be no polling was held in Punjab.